Tags

, , , , , , , ,

ImageThis past Saturday in Denver was Colorado’s annual Pagan Pride Day event.  As some of you may be aware I have not historically been very involved in the pagan community, but lately, with the launch of my podcast, Mountains of the Sun, and more blogging here, I have felt an intense need to change all of that.  So popping up to Denver Pagan Pride was a step in that direction.

Hilary and I drove up to Denver early in the morning, hoping to help the event organizer, and pagan author Melanie Marquis with anything she might need for setup.  Pagan Pride Day this year was held right in front of the state capital building, in Civic Center Park; apt placement I thought.  As we walked from our parking space to the event I must admit to some nervousness, but I was also totally curious.

I won’t go into the entire chronology of the day but the long and short of it was that I had a blast!  Part of my project for going up was to get interviews of various pagans for my podcast.  And I have to say it was a real revelation for me.  I am not by nature a very social person, but I have always *wanted* to be.  The great thing about giving interviews is that it gives you a perfectly valid excuse to go up to a total stranger and have a chat.  I was grinning from ear to ear after all was said and done.  All the interviews will be on the November show of Mountains of the Sun, to be replaced sometime around the middle of the month.  I will post here whenever I upload a new show.

To whet your appetite here is a small sampling of the people I had the pleasure of interviewing.

Image

Sister Who

Sister Who: a mind blowing experience of the spiritual kind.  She is so well spoken, kind, and poetic.  I can say that after meeting her it is obvious she is someone who lives close to the Otherworld at all times.

Image

Teo Bishop

Teo Bishop: a Druid blogger over at Bishop in the Grove, who I read often, and who I was totally surprised to see!  Well spoken, funny and intelligent interview.

William: another Druid who is starting a new Ár nDraíocht Féin group in Boulder.  A teenage pagan, a pagan father, an alchemist, a newbie pagan, Piper a Seid worker, and many more.  I was so happy with all the interviews and it was so great to connect with fellow pagans!  Our good friend Bryan came along as well, set up a booth and gave a well attended workshop on scrying.  My only regret was that I was so busy with interviews that I forgot to take any pictures! 😦

