Tags

, , , , , ,

I woke up today to news (from the 14th) that made me smile from ear to ear.  President Obama took some time out of his schedule on Wednesday to mark the holiday of Diwali, making him the first president to ever observe it.  My friend Vinai Thummalapally, was in attendance!  He is the new ambassador to Belize and I had the pleasure of making his acquaintance and working with him during the ’08 campaign here in Colorado Springs.  Both him and his wife Barbara (a kind and amazing woman) went to college with Obama, and I was privy to many personal stories about Obama that convinced me that he was the right man for the Presidency.  I highly recommend reading the White House blog entry on this, and watching the Presidents video relaying his thoughts on this auspicious day:

It is a great symbol of hope for me to see the President of the United States take time to pay homage to this holiday celebrated by many Sikh, Hindu, and Jainist Americans.  As a member of a minority faith myself, it reaffirms my feeling of having a place in Americans spiritual and religious heritage, and gives me hope that my children will grow up in a more tolerant and religiously diverse America.

